kerbweight question

Jun 28, 2006
Visit site
hello, I did a search but could not find anything on what I guess must be a frequently asked question. We are new to caravans and interested in buying a compass corona 505. The MTPLM puts us at 92% of our car's kerbweight. The salesman says this is ok, but all the advice in the magazines says do not exceed 85% as a rule of thumb if you are a novice. I would appreciate the opinion of experienced members of this forum as to if we should we be looking for a lighter van? Would 92% be dangerous?

Mar 1, 2006
Visit site
Hi Kevin, i'm a novice too so not much help i'm afraid as far as your qustion goes. oBut our first caravan is a 5 berth Lunar which is 85% of our Mondeo. I'd heard that Lunars are lightweight vans so to us this was an advantage. The nose weight is jsut over but only by 2%, but we are adding new springs to the suspension to give it that added umph.

I hope you get sorted soon

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Kevin,

Regardless of the actual weight ratio, the driver of an outfit must accept that extra care is needed when towing any type of trailer. Caravans present thier own charateristic hazards. They tend to be large for their weight and thus can very easiliy be affected by side winds and the bow waves from other vehicles. each outfit will react differently to these conditions, so it is difficult to cast-iron advice.

However, it is generally accepted that the heavier the tow vehicle in relation to the caravan the less the caravan will upset the tug. That is where the 85% guideline comes from. But this is not the whole story, there are many other factors that will contribute to the towing experience, weight distribution in the van, tyre pressures and the drivers ability to have empathy with the outfit and road conditions.