Lunar Quasar frame rot

Mar 21, 2022
Visit site
Hi Everyone,

I'm relatively new to caravanning having purchased a 2009 Lunar Quasar 525 2 years ago. I've been on a few trips and hoping to do a few more this year but since taking the van back from outdoor storage a few weeks ago I have found substantial rot in the frame in one of the front corners. I've had a look through a lot of other threads but unfortunately I can't find the answers i'm looking for so was hoping someone could help!

There was a damp patch on the front corner that didn't look too bad but once I stripped this back and removed some of the wall board I have found the frame to be completely soaked and rotten, all the way down to the floor and up past the back of the overhead locker. The frame is too far gone to be repaired so will need to be replaced. The main problem is in order to do this from the inside I would need to remove the overhead lockers but I'm not sure if this is possible as I think they may be screwed in from behind.

Has anyone here ever successfully removed overhead lockers from Lunar models of this vintage, and if so can they offer any guidance please?

After seeing the extent of the frame rot I'm leaning more towards getting a professional repair but this could be very costly so if I can do it myself I'll give it a go! I actually think the best way to proceed and possibly the way a professional outfit would proceed is to remove the external cladding and work on the frame from the outside. Does anyone know if that would normally be the case?

Thanks for your time and I'd really appreciate any advice!

Jul 19, 2021
Visit site
I can't help much, but when we had the damp in the front of our 2008 Bailey Pageant repaired, all the work for the frame was done on the inside.