Mains Water Connection

Dec 16, 2003
Visit site
Could anyone tell me if I can connect a water supply direct to the inlet on my 2004 Abbey GTS Vogue 417? I currently use a ballvalve in the side of my Aquaroll, but I have seen a few hoses connected directly to the water inlets. I am new to caravanning but have some idea about water as I am a Plumber!!

Any ideas please?

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hi Chris

I had a mains water adapter kit for my Carver system which contained the required pressure reducing valve. Obviously the mains pressure is far higher as a rule than the 12v pump pressure.

You can also get a kit for the Whale system which I presume contains a reducing valve. See the following web page, you'll need to scroll down the page to '350244 - Whale Aquasource Main Water connection':

http://www.caravanningworld.co.uk/acatalog/Online_Catalogue_Pumps___Filters_30.html

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
I would imagine that to connect the water supply directly to the van would require

a) a onboard tank

b) a pressure reducing valve

c) a auto shut off valve to operate when the tank is full

Theoretically you can fit in a caravan what you fit in the home but practically the space and weight will be prohibitive

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Standard caravan wate fittings are only rated to 1.5Bar water pressure. Domestic mains can go as high as 6+bar, so it is essential to use a proper pressure reducing valve not just a flow restricter.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Elsewhere in the forums, I've described how to make your own device which allows mains water connection without overpressure in the van. (But can't remeber where I posted it)