Motor Mover

Oct 17, 2010
Visit site
HI
I have a Towsure Move Master, that has given me great service over 9 years and two Caravans, until last week, as I was moving the van off the drive the off side motor went Phut, and died. the near side working as normal. Before I remove it, and have a rummage around inside, have you any ideas as to why??
I have checked the voltages at the motor, and they show a drop of 3 volts (which I think is normal) from the battery that shows 12.6 volts at idle. Near side continues to run as normal.
Is it possible to change the brushes, if I can buy replacements, that is??

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
It "should" be possible to change the brushes, but without knowing your mover or parts it is a guess.

Jul 18, 2017
Visit site
HI
I have a Towsure Move Master, that has given me great service over 9 years and two Caravans, until last week, as I was moving the van off the drive the off side motor went Phut, and died. the near side working as normal. Before I remove it, and have a rummage around inside, have you any ideas as to why??
I have checked the voltages at the motor, and they show a drop of 3 volts (which I think is normal) from the battery that shows 12.6 volts at idle. Near side continues to run as normal.
I would first have the battery checked as at 12.6v when activating the mover it is going to drop right down.

Sep 29, 2016
Visit site
HI

Assuming your battery is otherwise healthy then 12.6 v on a wet cell is over 90% charged and on an AGM is over 80% charged, so I would not initially suspect the battery.

Can you elaborate on what "
Phut" means?
Did some smoke escape? :)

Jan 19, 2002
Visit site
Was the mover manufactured for Towsure by one of the 'big boys'? In which case you would have the possibility of wider access to spares or replacement parts. If you can post a photo I would expect on of the eagle-eyed to identify it for you!

Reactions: DaveA1
Oct 17, 2010
Visit site