New Company Car

Feb 8, 2013
Visit site
Hi folks,
New to the forum, but have been an avid PC reader for some time.
We have had a caravan in the past, but not for some years. The time has come for us to start again.
I am a company car driver and am due to get a new motor next month. Based on this we will then start to look for a new van.
Here is my problem - I don't have any choice over the new car, it will be a Ford Focus 1.6 TDCi Zetec Estate. I've done some looking round and can see the manufacturer suggests a maximum tow weight of 1200kgs.
I'm struggling to get my head round what this means and what I can actually tow safely. Am I right in thinking that I should be looking for something with a MTPLM of 85% of the new car's kerbweight, as long as that doesn't exceed the 1200kg mark?
I don't have the kerbweight yet because I haven't got the car!
I'd class myself as a beginner when it comes to towing even though I've done it before.
Subject to your thoughts and answers, would anyone like to give me some suggestions for a suitable van (which I know will be fairly light in weight). We need a four berth and will have a budget of up to £4k.
Look forward to your thoughts.
With thanks,
Chris

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
The kerb weight of a Focus is somewhere around 1340kg, give or take 50kg. 85% of that is 1139kg. So you should be looking for a caravan with an MTPLM of not much more than 1140kg. This is less than 1200kg so you'd be alright in that respect, too.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Chris,

This area of law concerning driving and towing is quite complex but if you follow your suggested route of using a caravan whose MTPLM does not exceed the cars maximum braked towing limit then you should be well within limits and legal.