New investments

Jan 16, 2018
Visit site
I have been touring in my Swift for several years now and I have been struggling to stop my jack legs from sinking into the soft ground. I did some research and I've found some amazing pads made by that stop the legs from sinking. They are mess free easy to use and small to store in the caravan when not using.

Anyone else brought any new gadgets ahead of season

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
Strange how your first post endorses a commercial product! I use the standard steady pads which never give me any problems on soft ground. Often though they may need to be supplemented by something else to allow the van to be levelled fore - aft. That’s a number of lightweight levelling blocks, or possibly plywood. Either of these will spread the load even further with minimal weight.

£23 and 2.8 kgs each makes them a real asset! The yellow ones aren’t in stock and the black ones just don’t appear as the link goes through to the IPS web shop. Think I will stick with the conventional approach.

Jan 16, 2018
Visit site
I found these while looking for new jack feet online and I am always having problems with wood sinking when I go touring and difficult finding something substantial so I wanted to see if anyone else has the same problem and recommend what I found.

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
bumbleebee23 said:
they are 300mm X 300mm X 30mm

And 2.8kg weight. Reading the website the description seems to be for a single pad! Used pads for the high lift jack on my Pajero when off roading but they weren’t feasible for caravan steadies given their weight and mine were an open grp mesh so mud came through the square matrix.

Four Wilco plastic chopping boards would steady a caravan. I keep one in my tool bag to support the Alko side lift jack.

Jan 16, 2018
Visit site