Newbie Popping in to say hi

Oct 7, 2019
Visit site
Hi
Joined today as thought it was a good place to get advice on buying our first touring caravan, we are looking at possible getting a 6 berth twin wheel, and also advice on best clubs to join, we may not get one until next year and it won't be a new one.

So if anyone could advice best makes things we will need to consider, like do they have to have and MOT may seem a bit silly but total newbie. Obviously insurance, breakdown etc we also have 4 dogs.

Thank you Angie

May 7, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to the forum. There is a mass of experience here so whatever you need there should be an answer.
Starting out is a bit daunting and the second hand market can be daunting. There is no simple answer to what is the best make, like cars they all have there good and bad points. Looking at the UK built models Coachman are usually rated best in the magazines annual customer survey and Eldiss bottom with the others in between, but that is not the whole picture and what you want in the way of layout, equipment and colour schemes also need to be looked at. The best bet is to visit several dealers and look at what they have to narrow down the models to what you like best. Foreign made models are far less easy to find but generally have a better reputation.
The ages of any children and there needs at night will affect the layout you need so an idea of that might let you have more advice there.
Caravans do not need an MOT.