Remodelling a static?

Sep 24, 2023
Visit site
First post since I'm looking to finalise getting a static at the end of next week. It's a Delta Soleil 2010 and this is going to be my first static caravan purchase.

Now since I'm pretty much a noob at this I have some concerns and questions that the current owners or site couldn't really answer.

Can you remove the beds in statics fairly easily or are they linked to structural integrity?

The static has one double (or king but I think it's double) and a seperate room with two single beds. I want to rip out the single beds and turn it into an office so I can concentrate away from home.

I have a washer drier I'm wanting to move in. The current owner suggested putting it outside in a small locked shed, which is attached to the bottom of the caravan. My concern about this is the winter.... I used to be a plumber so piping isn't an issue for me.

That being said, isn't the water just going to freeze in there if its not constantly used? Is there any way around it? Are frozen pipes in winter on statics a big thing? I personally don't see how they maintain flow when they are so exposed.

Finally, are there in general any tips or things you wish you knew that you can share?

I have a low power usage dehumidifier that I plan on leaving there when I'm not present and the electric is covered in the ground rent which should help with mold but I'm aware ventilation is important.

Mel

Mar 17, 2007
Visit site
Hi. Welcome to the forum. Folks on here are very helpful but as we are all mostly touring caravan owners, there may be a limit to how much advice we can give. Having said that many people on here are technically skilled ( not me) and could be able to point you in the right direction.
mel

Sep 24, 2023
Visit site