Reversing with Skoda Superb

May 14, 2014
Visit site
Hi- I am a newbie having defected from the motorhome community! I have bought a 2010 Skoda Superb 2.0 D 170 BHP 4x4 estate which I am very pleased with- and a 2008 Bailey Senator Wyoming series 6. I appreciate this caravan is on the max for what I should be towing with this car weight-wise (slightly above 100% of the kerb weight though the stated max towing weight of the car is 2000kg) but it pulls fine and feels very stable- until I try to reverse! The clutch starts to smell awful and a couple of times the clutch pedal position has moved down which worries me- but the clutch has not started slipping and it is still driving fine. Is this to be expected with reversing a van of this weight (~1600 kg) or is there a known issue with the Skoda clutch (I'd be surprised as it is such a respected towcar..)
Any pointers appreciated thanks very much
Alastair

Jun 20, 2005
Visit site
Ho Jackoe
I have a Wyoming. 1670 kgs mtplm. No light weight..Reversing a heavy twin axle particularly in a tight turn. The 4 wheels partly scrub in the turn increasing the effort required. Can you reverse using no throttle to eliminate too much clutch slip?
I suspect the Skoda may have a higher reverse gear than 1st so that doesn't help.
On the basis you like the car, and it's not for me to say "not a good match" have you considered having a motor mover fitted? You can then reverse without using the Skoda.

May 14, 2014
Visit site
Thanks Dustydog- I really didn't want to go much bigger with the car but we like the space of the wyoming so hope we can make it work as a combination. I am looking into movers- will probably be cheaper than replacing the clutch I guess. May improve when I am more confident at reversing too- there's a lot of to-ing and fro-ing at the mo!

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hi