Scotland to Northern Ireland

Apr 6, 2008
Visit site
Hi everyone

This will be our second year with the van and are being adventurous! Plan is: to Stranraer (staying at Drummore CC site) then ferry to Belfast and driving up to Ballymoney CC site. Then on return journey maybe trying a CL around Castle Howard in Scotland. Questions I have:

1. I've heard the A75 is a dangerous road. Is it suitable for us newbies to tow on do you think??

2. Is Stranraer to Belfast the best route or Cairnryan to Larne?

3. Can anyone reccomend a CL around Castle Howard?

4. Anyone stayed at the CC sites at Drummore and Ballymoney and what are they like? Any tips for places to visit?

Thanks for any help you can give!!

Angel

Dec 5, 2006
Visit site
Hi Angel

the A75 is not that bad a road, granted there are some heavy trucks on it but there are plenty of pull ins to let them past if you want. As an ex truck driver i've travelled that route a few times and Stranraer to Belfast is the faster crossing with a high speed ferry approx 1 hour forty minutes if memory serves me but cairnryan to larn I think is the slow boat at around four hours. Sorry but can't help with the other two questions.

Good luck with Ireland it is a beautifull place

Jul 18, 2005
Visit site
Hi Angel,

The A75 is a good road and you will have no problems. It is a busy road as it is the main road from Stranraer and carries a lot of heavy lorries.However as previously mentioned there are a number of places to pull in if you need to but you should be able to maintain 50mph (legal speed limit on most of the road) If you are going Stranraer to Belfast with Stena Line make sure you book for HSS (high speed ferry) which takes approx.1hr 45 minutes and not the conventional ferry which takes approx 3hrs 15 minutes (although this method is sometimes cheaper). The P & O ferry from Cairnryan takes approx 2 hrs.