Should I reseal?

Aug 12, 2022
Visit site
Hi all! Newbie here, just purchased our first caravan. A 2005 Lunar Chateau 470. I noticed the offside aluminium rail has gaps in between the rubber seal and the body of the van. If I pull on it a bit I can see the sticky glue underneath. I bought a can of Soudal FixAll and was thinking about squeezing some in there. What's your opinion? There's also gaps between the van body and rear bumper which I was considering sealing up. Pics below with the van wall. I do not see any stains or soft walls inside the van, and there is no weird smells.
I also need to redo the sealant around the bathroom area since it separated. Anything in particular I should pay attention to? I grabbed some silicone remover and some Sika sanitary silicone for the bathroom/toilet.
Many thanks for the time and apologies if this is available somewhere else, my google-fu was no help

20220812_113544.jpeg20220812_113548.jpeg20220812_113600.jpeg

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello alexstefanssa,

Welcome to the forum.

I'd like to be able to say just refill the joints and it will be fine, but sadly from the information you have given, we can't possibly determine if the breakdown of the seals have caused any problems within the wall construction.

Judging from the pictures, the a outer aluminium panel has moved some distance from the strip, that could be indicative of active rot in the wooden batons inside the wall. The only way to accurately determine the facts is to expose the wall filling.

If there is any rot, it's important that any affected material must be completely removed as well as repairing any leaks.

I hope I'm wrong but I can't count out the possibility of problems in the walls.

Aug 12, 2022
Visit site