Sockets/ battery issue

Mar 27, 2014
Visit site
Hi I am completely new to owning a motorhome so will apologise now for asking what may be an obvious question! Can someone tell me whether the sockets should work or not just off the battery? I tried turning the TV on whilst no power was connected and it wouldn't work, nor would the socket in the kitchen area. All the fuses are fine and everything else is working except the sockets! Please help!

Apr 7, 2008
Visit site
Some tv's will work off a 12v supply, but if your's is 240v you will need to connect the EHU cable to the mains ...

Have you just got the vehicle ?

Mar 27, 2014
Visit site
Thanks for your help, yes we got it about three weeks ago. Can you tell me if this the reason the socket in the kitchen area won't work either?

Apr 7, 2008
Visit site
Yes that will be the reason ...

Question

Has it been serviced recently if not I would suggest that you arrange for it to be done ;)

Mar 27, 2014
Visit site
Great , I thought I was going a bit mad trying to work it out! I am quite technically minded but this is a whole new experience for me :)) thanks again.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Newbie

With the fitting of a 12Vdc to 230Vac inverter you could run a limited number of 230V appliances without a mains hook up.

The usual problem is that 230V appliances tend to use a lot or power and the 12V batteries in caravans/motorhomes are not a bottomless pit of energy

For example trying to run 1kW fire requires a 1000W at 230V that would require a battery to be able to supply an inverter with at least 85A. most caravan batteries would not last an hour before being completely flattened and possibly damaged by drawing so much current, and you would need a big inverter to handle the power.

They do exists but, but a good quality one with a pure sine wave output would be several hundred pounds.