Solar Panels... worth while?

Apr 7, 2008
Visit site
If you intend to use a solar panel for trickle charging your battery & your van has a alarm fitted, you will need at least 10 to 15w just to keep it topped up.

For what Stephen is suggesting as i have said save your money 1.5w will do nothing, especially on a dark or dull day..

If he wants to go down the solar panel rout for rallying or not on EHU then, the amount of usage the battery is going to take, will determine the size of panel required, the bigger the panel the more expensive they are, ideally between 60-80w would be ok.

Some people manage with a smaller one, but are very wary to what is being used & manage it accordingly

Jan 25, 2010
Visit site
The exact reason for posting before purchasing... your advise or an alternative that works would be greatfully received.

I'm new to caravanning and have no idea how long my battery or gas would last as i have yet to go on my maiden trip being something of a gadget geek Solar power seems like a great idea but i know nothing about the pros or cons or standards i should be looking for.

Sep 25, 2009
Visit site
If you intend to use a solar panel for trickle charging your battery & your van has a alarm fitted, you will need at least 10 to 15w just to keep it topped up.

For what Stephen is suggesting as i have said save your money 1.5w will do nothing, especially on a dark or dull day..

If he wants to go down the solar panel rout for rallying or not on EHU then, the amount of usage the battery is going to take, will determine the size of panel required, the bigger the panel the more expensive they are, ideally between 60-80w would be ok.

Some people manage with a smaller one, but are very wary to what is being used & manage it accordingly
Thanks Sproket, your advice has been noted.

Best regards,

George

Sep 23, 2009
Visit site
Hi stephen.

To pick upon a point you made Re-dont know how long battery will last........