some common sense advice please

Nov 9, 2006
Visit site
I am a newbie to all things Caravaning.

I don't have a car or a van - yet, but I have identified my ideal set-up.

I am considering a Seat Alhambra 1.9TD tow car, and a Coachman 550/5 van.

When I calculate tow weights etc, the set up is above the guideline 85%, in fact it is 95%; this uses the van MTPLM(~1560kg) and the car kerb weight (~1650kg).

Now I am not going to load the van with 200Kg of stuff, and the car can't drive itself! So can I use sensible figures and consider how much load I will put in the van and the car and calculate the ratio from that?

The towsafe web site cost me £15 to tell me what I already know, what a rip off.

Sep 13, 2006
Visit site
Timothy

I should check that kerbweight, our 2000 Seat Ahambra PD SE has a kerbweight of 1820Kg, I can not believe it would change that much even in another variant.

We tow a 1710 Kg twin axle with no problems, but I would not suggest ours as a first outfit, yours sounds OK if you have the kerb weight wrong.

If you have not bought the car yet try and get one with the lower (harder) suspension, there is a noticeable difference towing.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Timothy,

You are very sensible to consider the weight ratio of your outfit, and it seesm you also understand that the 85% is only guideline, and has no basis in law. Provided the ratio is within the manufactuures specification, then it should be legal.

You have correctly used the tug kerbweight:Caravan MPTLM to calculate the ratio. whilst this may seem silly (for the reasons you explain) but it is a consistent method, that does not require the actual weighing of each part of the outfit, which for most people is impractical. The upshot is that most outfits are slightly better than theoretical ratio.