Stupid question of the day!

Sep 1, 2006
Visit site
Have just purchased an Avondale 550/4 from my parents. I have a choice of tow car (both within the 85% rule). Land Rover Discovery V8 that is LPG converted, or a Rover 75 diesel tourer. Heart says Discovery, head says Rover. I have over 20 years experience of towing (horse box etc..). I feel embarrased to ask the question but i'm getting different opinions from those "in the know" and those who just think they know. This is an honest post so all thoughts appreciated.

Feb 21, 2005
Visit site
Hi, This is the $64 question. There will be benefits for both but just because the Rover 75 is within the 85% rule it doesn't mean to say that it will be capable of towing comfortably, the Avondale 550/4 is not a light weight 'van by any means and I would therefore be very concerned over its pulling efficienty. The L/Rover would walk away with it without a doubt. I can only personally say that I would be extremely cautious of the Rover 75, on the flat, ok, but up hill's and pulling away on a hill should you be forced to stop which will at sometime happen would worry me. Sorry I can't be more positive. Rob.

Apr 13, 2005
Visit site
It goes without saying that the landrover will be the safer choice as its by far the heaviest vehicle and has a bit more power to boot, but from experiance i will say that the rover will have no problems what so ever with the van, my father had a 75 tourer diesel and towed a coachman pastiche 530/4 with it. the van is heavier than the avondale and the car never once appeared to strugle whether on the flat or uphill, loads of power available and good torque levels on top of this it was a very comfortable car to drive in over long distances.

At the end of the day you have two vehicles to choose from, i would try both and then make my mind up which i felt happier with.

Jul 26, 2005
Visit site