swift charisma 570 , ford mondeo st tdci estate

Jun 3, 2008
Visit site
hi

we are considering caravanning after many years in a tent. we have the above car and very much like the above caravan. i am 6' , 2" and it seems swift may have a tiny bit more head room. we also like the end bunks for our 2 boys (9 and 12). thing is ive been on whattowcar and i need to reduce the caravan payload from their default 200kgs ( which gives 93%) to 100kg (86%) or 50kg (83%) to get anywhere near the suggested 85%. how practical is it to carry this small a load in the caravan? and how critical is it if you just crept over 85%. i have some trailer towing experience. any other views on this matter would be greatly appreciated

many thanks

May 18, 2007
Visit site
What weight do you have for your car.? My previous ST Hatch weighed in at 1640kg and was very stable and within 100% towing limit on my Coachman (1500kg).

Shouldn't worry too much about the 85% "rule" - it is only advisory and the Mondeo is a very stable tug especially with the sports suspension.

Sep 15, 2006
Visit site
I towed at 95% with a Mondeo estate and it was reasonably OK. I don't have any children though, so folded the back seats down and put the awning etc in there.

Don't frget that there are some payload items you cannot easily carry in the car (mover [if you have one], battery etc).

I also had great problems getting the noseweight down to the 75kg max which the mondeo can handle, and in the end switched to a 4x4. I thought the Mondeo was good, but the 4x4 is much much better in every aspect except acceleration.

You may find a couple of issues with the towbar being low on the ST - it has lowered springs over the standard ca - may be worth looking around to find someone who does one specifically for this model if possible.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Richard,