Truma Ultraheat

Oct 1, 2020
Visit site
Hi, I’m very new to the Caravan scene, in fact we are going away tomorrow for a first trip and to be honest I’m very nervous!!
Ive just been playing around with the heating system and was wondering what’s the best way to keep the van warm during the night? I have a wife who hates the cold and two very young children, so heating is of the essence!! I believe the heating runs off either electric or gas!
is it safe to leave heating on over night?

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
You’ve probably got three electric settings. 500,1000,2000 watts. So I would opt for electric rather than gas. It all depends on what temperature you require for comfort but just experiment with the thermostat. We don’t have heating on at night preferring a cool van, but when away last week when it was a bit cooler we ran it at 1000 watts and fan speed 3 and adjusted the thermostat to a suitable evening temperature.

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Just to put your mind at rest, it is perfectly safe to run the heater on either gas or electric during the day and night.
Whichever fuel source you decide on , it is a case of finding the thermostat setting that suits you .

Oct 1, 2020
Visit site
You’ve probably got three electric settings. 500,1000,2000 watts. So I would opt for electric rather than gas. It all depends on what temperature you require for comfort but just experiment with the thermostat. We don’t have heating on at night preferring a cool van, but when away last week when it was a bit cooler we ran it at 1000 watts and fan speed 3 and adjusted the thermostat to a suitable evening temperature.
Yes it has got those three settings.
Thank you I’ll play around with it!

Oct 1, 2020
Visit site
Just to put your mind at rest, it is perfectly safe to run the heater on either gas or electric during the day and night.
Whichever fuel source you decide on , it is a case of finding the thermostat setting that suits you .