Tyre blow outs

Aug 30, 2015
Visit site
We have a Lunar Solaris Twin Axle. Had two new Firestone Tyres 175/R14/86T
Fitted (front axle) a year ago (date on tyre 5012) so already 2 years old when fitted. On a recent trip the near side front tyre shredded on our outward journey and the offside front tyre shredded on the return journey. Both tyres had done less than 1000 miles since fitted. I have been towing for over 30 years and never had this type of problem before. Anyone else had a similar problem with this type of tyre with a similar date on tyre?

Feb 3, 2008
Visit site
Are you sure you weren't exceeding the speed rating of 'T'. ;) 118 mph does seem rather high though!

Joking aside, I wouldn't have expected age, manufacturer, speed or load to be a factor. The probability is that the front tyres would always pick up any punctures first as they are the ones rolling over any road debris first. Unfortunately without more information on how or what caused the shredding we can only put it down to sheer bad luck. :(

Did the problems occur on the same stretch of road in both directions?

Other possible causes - overheating brakes or wheel bearings on the front axle.

Jun 20, 2005
Visit site
Do you still have the damaged tyres?
If so ask Fire stone to examine them for you. They could be part of a faulty batch.
Why didn't you replace the rear axle tyres at the same time?
Did you know the tyres were two years old when you bought them?
I assume a motor mover if fitted hadn't been left engaged?

Aug 30, 2015
Visit site
Thanks for the responses. The first was travelling North on the A11 dual carriage way after aprox 30 miles M11 & A11, the second was coming South (from Sheringham) around the Norwich By-Pass. I looked very carefully at the treads for signs of puncture but could find none.
The rear axle tyres had been replaced about 3 years ago and are still in good condition. The van was serviced in June 2015.