Tyre pressure

Mar 24, 2014
Visit site
Hi all,

I have recently purchased a 1993 Bailey SE Avallon. I am confused as to what tyre pressure to use, the tyres fitted are 175R13 LT 97/95R (8PR), Max load single 730kg dual 690kg at 450KPa (65psi) cold and the caravan has a MTPLM of 1048kg. Now the confusion is that the owners manual quotes 33 psi but I'm not convinced this is right as they look under inflated at that pressure, I have even emailed Bailey who have confirmed this psi. I have searched the internet but this has only confused me further as I'm getting quotes anywhere from 42psi through to 65psi (but this is the max psi quoted on the tyre). I'm hoping somebody on here could please shed light on this for me and point me in the right direction as I'm a newbie to caravanning and planning my first long journey in August and have read the importance of getting this right. Thanks in advance Richard.

Mar 10, 2006
Visit site
I had the same issue with a 1979 Avondale, the tyres on that were also 33psi, and the tyres never looked right. That's assuming the tyres are the same spec as the originals.

I would stick to the 33psi especially as you have a Email confirmation, I always add a couple of psi anyway, same as I do with the car, its better to be over than under.

This chart may help.

http://www.tyresafe.org/images/campaigns/caravan_tyre_safety_leaflet.pdf

Feb 3, 2008
Visit site
A good approximation is to proportion the max tyre pressure against the actual load (half caravan MTPLM per tyre). In your case 524 divided 730 times 65 equals 46 psi.

Edit - are the tyres fitted exactly the same as the specification in the handbook?

JTQ

May 7, 2005
Visit site
WoodlandsCamper said:
A good approximation is to proportion the max tyre pressure against the actual load (half caravan MTPLM per tyre). In your case 524 divided 730 times 65 equals 46 psi.

Edit - are the tyres fitted exactly the same as the specification in the handbook?