Unfair Payment System

May 12, 2019
Visit site
Normally I pay for everything I do with my Credit Card as there is greater protection against scams.
On Monday I was booking a Campsite over the phone for May this year and they only take payment by Debit Card.
So I had to give my Debit Card Details over the phone including the 3 security numbers off the back,
I have never had to do this before with my Debit Card and am quite nervous after reading all the scams going on.

Although I am new to caravanning I have always paid previously by Credit Card

Am I right to be nervous.

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
No. No real difference to inputting your debit card details for an online purchase. I do it when buying items by phone too, some sellers link you through to a secure payment agent so the seller doesn’t have details of your card.

Mar 27, 2011
Visit site
Several years ago we decided to open a separate bank account that is purely for online purchases of all types anything that requires a payment over the phone or online we use this account, there is no overdraft allowed at all, there is never more than around £50 in the account should something more be needed a transfer will be made to cover the amount, should this account get compromised then we know that only a small amount can be scammed in the event of it being tricked by dodgy deals, we use the account for Amazon payments, eBay or any person or company we are in anyway unsure about.

BP

Jun 16, 2010
Visit site