Aug 29, 2005
Visit site
I wonder if you guys (and Gals ofcourse) have any opinions as to a good tow car for an Old Eldis Hurricane delux 2birth. I currently have a Ford Scorpio 2.3 Ghia X but would like something slightly newer. I have been looking at a Rover 416i. Because of the colapse of Rover they are cheap at the moment. Any advice would be useful.

Nov 1, 2005
Visit site
Donald, I'm sure some forum member who owns a Rover will jump right down my throat here, but the 200 & 400 series Rovers were terrible in every aspect. I don't know if Rover even had a quality control for these cars. I think unless your 'van is very light the Rover will be too light anyway, but I'd avoid them like the plague. The 200 series is the only front wheel drive I've ever driven which oversteered on full throttle, not good.

Aug 29, 2005
Visit site
Thanks Craig I thought as much. I used to tow my Eldis with a Rover 418 deisel but that had a Peugot engine and was fantastic but I have no experience of petrol Rovers. Looks like its going to be the Scorpio or a Volvo then. Thanks again.

Dec 16, 2003
Visit site
I've no axe to grind with Rover cars, Many posted when I commented on a poor new Rover 75 I drove last Autumn that theirs were good.

A business contact has resorted to having another garage service his Rovers due to uncertainty about the Rover dealerships.

He was advised that dealer has problems due to warranty work and could close due to the financial pressure, if it is a nasty rumour that's sad. But if there is any truth how does he stand with car in bits in the workshop if they go bust. He's not taking the chance :-(

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
A colleague of mine runs an Alfa as his company car - the previous one was an Alfa and both spend a great deal of time in the garage having warranty repairs. I run a Discovery - bought at 65,000 and now with 150,000 and in that time it has cost me

Mar 16, 2005
Visit site