Where can my toddler sleep?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Jun 23, 2006
Visit site
i am new to caravanning and just brought a 4 berth Coachman Amara 520/4. I also have a very energetic 22 month old daughter who still sleeps in a cot at home. I am trying to work out the best place for her to sleep,(apart from with us) as a travel cot does not fit in the van, and the side dinette turns into bunk beds, which even on the bottom bunk I would be worried about her falling out as she is used to a cot. Does anyone know if you can get travel cots big enough to accomodate a nearly 2 year old thats fits in a caravan or a way of stopping her rolling/falling out of the bunk? What do other people do with their toddlers? Any help would be appriciated as we are going on hols in the van for the 1st time soon! Thanks

Apr 13, 2005
Visit site
joanne, it was along time ago now (15 years) but we bought a side for our single bed that was about 10 inches tall and 4 foot long it was very light weight and had two feet that slotted under the mattress and held the "fence" in place so our child could not roll out of bed. it was obviousley desighned for a bed at home but theire is no reason why it could not be used on the lower side dinette bunk. if you can not find one of these then if the amara is the same as our old vip then the side dinette chairs had a small lip round them, if you cut a small piece of light weight hard board to fit on the inner edge of this lip for the full length of the bed then your child could not possibly fall out as his / her weight would hold the wood in place. a great choice of van by the way we have had 3 coachmans now and without doubt they are the best british built van you can buy.

Apr 4, 2006
Visit site
Hi