Which brand least likely to leak?

Mar 1, 2019
Visit site
Hi all,

American here. I'm not new to caravans (though we don't call them that :lol: ), but i AM new to European ones.

What brands of used caravans are the least likely to have leaks? I have looked at a few little Niewiadows aka Freedoms. The only one that had a leak was really old, and the leak was from the grab handle holes drilled through the shell (and repairing a leaky Freedom is not worrisome to me since unlike most American RVs, its floor is fiberglass, not plywood, and it has no wooden studs in the walls to rot).

But most of the bigger ones like I want (Baileys, Lunars, etc.) are showing evidence of "damp." I am not yet familiar with how all these brands are constructed, but in the US, pretty much all larger caravans are "stick-built," with wooden wall studs inside and a plywood floor. And the problem is, they all have a joint between the roof and walls, and that is where they all leak.

In order to prevent the roof joint from leaking, the sealant must be scraped out and replaced every 2-3 years). Of course, almost nobody does that, so pretty much every used caravan in the US is leaking even if there's no evidence of it inside the caravan.

(Well, it's much less common for the fiberglass "egg" ones, like Scamp, Boler, Burro, etc. to be leaking, because they do not have a roof joint at the walls. They are basically the American version of Freedoms)

I would prefer an older caravan as it will be much less expensive. I do not care whether the interior is outdated or shabby -- I am going to refinish the interior anyhow. But I do not want to have to rip out wall paneling or flooring and replace any studs or the floor.

What are some brands and models I should look at?

Are most European caravans all built with wooden frames inside the walls?

Thank you.

Mar 8, 2017
wandering.me.uk
The leak rate among UK built caravans seems to be about the same judged from what I hear and read.