Which stabilizer for my caravan?

Jun 14, 2023
Visit site
Hi, complete newbie here.
Just bought an old Craftsman Miracle 174/4 and trying to get a suitable stabiliser but not sure which will fit. If poss I'd be grateful if anyone could possibly look at the attached pics and estimate whether the hitch looks like it'd fit the stabiliser.

Thanks a lot.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230614-195349.png
    Screenshot_20230614-195349.png
    674.8 KB · Views: 12
  • Screenshot_20230614-200957.png
    Screenshot_20230614-200957.png
    1.6 MB · Views: 12
Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
It looks like you have an older Alko coupling hitch on the caravan without any built in friction pads.

The other part you have pictured is the receiver for a leaf stabiliser, but that by itself is useless without the reaction leaf and friction disks and its mounting bracket parts which fit to the car.

Do you have the other parts?
1686775454223.jpeg

Also it will depend on what type of tow ball you have fitted to the car as the above unit and many of its type ae usually designed to clamp between the tow ball, and the car's tow bar
images

Jun 14, 2023
Visit site
Thanks for your response. I have a swan neck tow bar. The stabilizer I pictured is on eBay and doesn't look like it contains any other parts.

My tow bar is a swan neck.

If poss please let me know what is the best option for me to buy .

Also apologies if it's a silly question but will I still be able to go round corners with a stabiliser fitted?

Cheers

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
No question is silly if you don't know the answer, and actually it's a good point in relation to leaf type stabilisers but i'll come back to going round corners in a moment.

The brand of leaf type stabiliser that I know can be fitted to a swan neck is "Bulldog" Other brands may also have the necessary swan neck fittings.

images

For use with Bulldog 200Q Stabiliser for standard trailers.