Zafira Tourer Have I bought the worse towcar ever?

Aug 22, 2015
Visit site
Hi, complete newbie and dont know a thing about anything caravanning yet so please be kind on my first post...!

We are a very young family and we bought a Vauxhall Zafira Tourer 2.0 diesel initially to cater for baby seats and pram. We knew that once the kids got a bit older that we would love to have a caravan and I automatically assumed that due to its size (being a 7 seater) that it would have no probs in towing a decent sized, 4 berth van.

Well we made a start today looking at buying a second hand one and came home pretty disheartened - according to my registration document, my technical permissible maximum towable mass of a trailer is only 1150 which means that practically all of the caravans we looked at are too heavy for it, even under their unladen weight.

Might be clutching at straws here, but could anyone tell me if this the figure we use? I can;t find its kerb weight info anywhere in order to calculate the 85% ratio.

Just for info, we don't really want to buy anything else at the min (saving for the caravan and the Zafira is pleasingly economical). Just to give you an idea of what we would love - a 4 beth, something with a bunk bed for the kids and a separate shower if possible.

Some advice would be very much appreciated.

Thanks

Jo

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
If your V5C stipulates a max trailer weight of 1150Kg, then that is what you are restricted to , regardless of kerbweight.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Joanne,

I'm sorry your plans have been thwarted. Unfortunately as Damian states, the figure on you V5c is the maximum that particular vehicle is allowed to tow. It an anomaly in Vauxhall's normally reasonable tow limits for their vehicles. It stems from a technical issue with the engine cooling in your particular model.