Advice For Caravan for home weekend use

Apr 29, 2017
Visit site
Hi everybody, i am a complete novice and would greatly appreciate your help (please go easy on me).
Bit of a long story but will cut it short.

I am mulling over whether to buy a cheap caravan to put down the side of my Mum's house for me and partner to stay in at weekends.This will enable us to have our own space until we can get enough money together for a deposit for own place for a while.

Is it possible to run the fridge, heating and oven from the mains?, or is this not advisable?. I have seen a caravan connector to three pin plug converter, would this be ok, and is this simple enough?. How good is the heating system in a caravan these days for winter nights?.

I am extremely grateful for any advice you can give.

Thanks guys :)

Aug 23, 2009
Visit site
Some will depend on how cheap and cheerful. The heating on an older van may well be gas only and insulation may not be to modern standards. Not sure how you would stand for planning permission etc if living in the van. The oven will be gas not electric. Yes it is that simple to plug into the mains.

Mar 14, 2005
jondogoescaravanning.com
Paulb79 said:
Is it possible to run the fridge, heating and oven from the mains?,

:)

Yes - fridge and heating would run off the mains but any oven is likely to be only useable on bottled gas. Also you would need to ensure that any vents were not being blocked by close proximity to walls. Providing you had an onboard battery and a functioning charging system, 12 volt lighting and facilities could be used.

Caravans built before the '90s only had a single plywood floor of around 10mm thick so would loose heat through the floor.. Vans built after the 90s have composite floors - two sheets of ply with a core of polystyrene. All vans have built in permanent ventilation - through which there's heat loss but it's not advisable to block any ventilators or floor vents.