Battery charging/motor mover

Mar 30, 2018
Visit site
Hi all, I am a new member and a total novice where caravanning is concerned. I bought an older (1999) van last year and had a second hand motor mover fitted and a new battery. All worked ok when we used the van last year. We have just been over to the storage place to check on our van and to prepare her for our first outing this year. When we tested the motor mover we couldn't get anything from it i.e. no movement. There were clicking noises coming from the control box inside the caravan but no movement. I wondered if it was because the leisure battery had worn down a bit over winter but when I checked on the control panel inside the van it showed as still being in the 'green' area on the meter. Can anyone tell me if they know what may be the problem and what is the best course of action to fix it please? If I need to charge the battery can I charge it just by plugging my van into the mains electric supply or do I need to disconnect the battery and charge with a battery charger at home?? LIke I said I'm a complete novice, not even sure how to disconnect the battery!! Please help.....thanks. CC.

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
First action should be to charge the battery. Given it’s not been used for so long I would use a proper battery charger as your van probably doesn’t have the later multi stage chargers.

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
A battery will self discharge over a period of time, which is why it is important to remove it if storing the van over winter, and keeping it in a fully charged state at home until you intend using the van again.

Your van being 1999 will have a basic charger which will only charge the battery to 80%, you need to have it at its maximum, so a smart charger at home is the answer.

Leaving a battery discharged will ruin the battery and it will no longer hold a charge.
The indicators in the van are notoriously inaccurate, you need to use a multimeter to check it.