Caravan overturning while towing.

Feb 23, 2008
Visit site
I have returned home, luckily in one piece after pick van up from a service. On the journey traveling along the motorway at 55 - 60 mph the van went up on one wheel and has scrapped away a large section of bottom trim and left a 10 inch hole in the front locker. The wind was quite strong and the van was completely empty.

Could any answer if a alko stabiliser would help prevent this?

What speed would you drive at in windy conditions?

Is there a minimum weight you should not tow below?

Thanks

Dec 30, 2009
Visit site
Ian sorry to hear of your misfortune, I hope you are ok.

I drive a HGV lorry for a living and we have been instucted to drive at 40mph on the m-way in high winds. I personally not take the caravan out in high winds if it can be at all avoided, to the extent our January holiday every year we book 4 days so if we need to stay longer for any wind to die down we can.

If the wind can blow over a hgv artic empty weighing 22 ton enough said.

Kevin

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
Without experiencing the same conditions it's a bit difficult to say whether an AlKo stabiliser would have prevented the misfortune. What one can say, however, is that it would make it less likely. What does concern me, though, is that you were doing 55-60mph in what was obviously strong wind. In very unfavourable conditions, it may be necessary to slow right down and, if neceesary, stop and interrupt your journey until the wind subsides.

Dec 27, 2006
Visit site
I wouldnt drive at 55 - 60 in windy conditions with a full van never mind an empty van. Depends on the conditions but for me i would probably be doing 45 max and thats a loaded van with a low centre of gravity, have to say I dont like towing an empty van at any time as they can be unpredictable.

Jun 25, 2005
Visit site
Hi