chosing a twin axle

Oct 17, 2009
Visit site
We have been caravanners for 4 years with a single axle.

Now with 3 teenage boys and 2 dogs we are buying a twin axle.

Our final choices are Bailey GT620/6 or Lunar Quasar 626.

Any opinions on either please. we would like reasons why we should pay extra £2 k on the Lunar.

Also we will tow with a Galaxy 2litre TDCi manual diesal, anyone tow with galaxy a twin axle?

Thanks Jennie

Dec 27, 2006
Visit site
The choice of van is a personal thing, which van suits your needs best.

My only concern would be your tow car, I am no expert on Galaxys but what is the cars weight , also is 2.0 powerful enough for such a large van? What is the torque of the galaxy , also is it auto or manual.

We have a t/a delta 1700kg which we tow with a Grand Cherokee, overall I feel the twin is more stable towing than our previous single axles as it doesnt react so much to passing trucks and coaches on the motorway. Reversing is also easier as again the van is slower in reacting to steering movements when reversing.

Downside is moving the van unhitched , there is no way i can move it and for that reason I got a mover fitted. With 5 of you it may be easier but i would recomend a mover for t/axles.

Mar 21, 2008
Visit site
Hi Jennie,

They're both very light fo twin-axles and your Galaxy should tow either easily.

We tow a single axle 'van with a 2litre TDCi Galaxy (mtplm 1400kg) and it could easily cope with more.

I suggest you have a good look at both caravans - see if the Lunar offers

Oct 17, 2009
Visit site
Just been looking at caravan matching and it hows the galaxy as a good match for both vans . As Rupert says they are both light for twin axles.

Try this web site for outfit matching.

]http://www.caravantrekker.nl/whattowcar/basic_index.php
http://www.caravantrekker.nl/whattowcar/basic_index.php[/quote
hi del and rupert

thanks for your comments