Cleaning the outside of a motorhome

Oct 24, 2015
Visit site
Good Evening All,

Whilst I have some knowledge and (OCD!) experience of DIY car detailing, the same cannot be said for a newly acquired motorhome.

For example, my car has been treated with a glass coat sealant, so to maintain it I only use ph neutral snow foam and shampoo. I neve use polish as polish has a negative effect and don't need to use a wax as I only need to wipe the glass coating over with the recommended QD as this not only removes any water marks (as I don't yet use a water filter for the final rinse) but also gives an amazing finish and unbelievably tight beading.

Our motorhome has been treated to Supaguard. Whilst this is not a coating that I would use on my car, my opinion is application of any sealant is only as good as the prep before hand. I doubt that the supplying dealer has done anything more than wash the vehicle and then wiped it over with the Supaguard. So unless the surfaces were completely decontaminated after the wash cycle, the Supaguard coating will not work to its best effect.

Common sense and my wallet dictate that after snow foaming, I use the Supaguard shampoo and paste/wax to maintain and hopefully improve the original Supaguard coating.

However on the subject of cleaning and maintaining a motorhome, there is very little if any mention of Supaguard. Yet there is stuff about cleaning products from Power Maxed, Fenwick and Marine polish. These seem to pop up time and time again and are well advertised.