Definition of a Caravanette

Aug 1, 2023
Visit site
Hello
I am new to all this so please be gentle with me! I have recently bought a van that has seats in the rear which could be made into a bed, why I say could is that I don’t know if they can as I didn’t buy it to sleep in, just to transport people in(if I did camp I would use an awning and sleep outside the van)

Anyway the complex that I live in has a clause and does not permit caravanettes. They have said that my van is a caravanette and I must remove it from site.

By the way I do not have anything else in the van apart from the seats.

Anybody had a similar issue or can guide me in the direction of a definition as to what my van actually is….is it a caravanette?

Nov 30, 2022
Visit site
There is no legal definition or classification of caravanette, camper van or motorhome. They are all, according to the Construction and Use Regulations "Motor cars"
In the same way that caravans are, by legal definition, trailers just like ones that you can transport cars on!
I think the people who have told you it must be moved need to explain to you what exactly a caravanette is. Its up to them to prove you have broken "the rules" not you to prove you haven't.
My personal view is that they are trying it on and, if challenged to show any legal definition of a caravanette in order to prove you have breached a part of your tenancy will, to say the least, find it exceedingly challenging to do so.
Ask them to show you the legal (not any other form of) definition!
In addition if there is no sink, toilet, bed etc present ask what badis they use to call it a caravanette. Whats to stop you countering that a large estate car is a caravanette How many seats does your vehicle have?

Nov 11, 2009
Visit site
Hello