Diesel Engine Vehicle POWER increase by 20%?

Aug 31, 2005
Visit site
I noticed an advert in a Caravan magazine for a device which supposedly increases your Diesel engined vehicle's bhp and torque by up to 20% ; and at the same time improves your fuel economy!!!! Using the old adage of "if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is" I am deeply sceptical!!

The dealer said that my 1999 Mercedes C250 Turbo diesel could expect to go from around 150 bhp to 180 which would make a whopping difference; especially when towing. I mentioned that I had already done 125,000 miles and he said that those engines will easily go for around 250,000 miles.

Has anyone any experience of this device called a "P Box" ?

Oh, and the cost, around £350

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hi John

Not sure about the product you mention, however I work in the tuning industry and diesels respond very well to chipping and reprogramming- much better than petrol engines. I had my last car (VW Bora 130BHP TDI) reprogrammed by revotecnic and saw the BHP go to 165 (it was switchable in car for boost and mid range too). Awesome performance and so much torque- a silver 4 door saloon would embarrass many a sportier car! I didn't tow at the time though.

I would check out the company online- ask around on forums as some products are better than others and all are at similar money!

I have the new Golf now and am getting that tuned too- be great for towing the Bailey I now have!

Aug 27, 2005
Visit site
we have a 2.2 CRD PT Cruiser and we chipped that ourselves earlier this year. As its basically a merceded engine John this should also work for you...

We bought an AMH booster from a guy on ebay Germany. he deals in second hand booster "Chips" and they work out at around

Aug 31, 2005
Visit site
we have a 2.2 CRD PT Cruiser and we chipped that ourselves earlier this year. As its basically a merceded engine John this should also work for you...