driving in Spain

Jul 29, 2015
Visit site
Hiya guy's, I'm a newbe to this forum.
Can any one advise driving on Spain's motorway during winter months, do they suffer from FOG like we get here, I know it must seem a dumb question but I have a fobia when it comes to driving in fog.
Thanks in advance.

Mar 14, 2005
jondogoescaravanning.com
I've been towing my caravan to southern Spain for more than 20 years - usually out in early November and back at the end of February. Then some years a drive home just by car before Christmas then back again in early January. On none of the journeys have I experienced real fog - maybe just a little bit of mist. Also very rarely have I been delayed by snow, because the Spanish authorities are always ready with gritters and snow ploughs. You see them stationed at motorway junctions all ready to go - even before the snow has started. Driving through France in winter can be unpleasant because of rain and cold and if you choose a route down the centre of the country, you could well be delayed by snow falls. The Spanish motorway system is excellent - well engineered and usually well surfaced. Many of them are free motorways but some are toll roads.

Jun 7, 2011
Visit site
The majority of main roads through Spain and France are well maintined and ready for inclement weather, unlike here.
This past winter, there was heavy snowfalls from Atlantic port of Santander across Spain to Barcelona, blocking the road for two days, but that was very rare occurrence. It even snowed in Benecassim one morning.
But authorities were quickly on scene to reassure travellers they would be freed soon.
Have no fear, their preparation for adverse weather are well established.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site