Euro car number plates

Mar 17, 2006
Visit site
This is my first time driving in France, I have changed all my number plates to the ones with the euro logo and GB under it, thinking If I did this I wouldnt need the Black / White GB sticker for the car and Caravan. Then the Cravan mag drops on the door step and it informs me that you still need a Black / White GB sticker is this true?

Jan 2, 2006
Visit site
The article says French and Dutch police say that I must confess I have never heard that before so I have no idea where he got that from,mind you I find the author of that article is sometimes a little inventive.I have never had a problem using just the number plates as I suspect have thousands of others.When you go you will also a lot with neither.

Jan 2, 2006
Visit site
Having read more of the magazine the same point is raised later on with a different slant on the position.

If you are concerned about being crammed onto the ferry this point is covered at the botom left of page 52 and you can take comfort that you have as much room as an 'arctic'.However never having seen one I can only assume they are at least as big as other lorries!

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
If you have true Euro number plates, i.e. with the 12 stars in a circle on a blue background and 'GB' underneath, you do not need a separate GB sticker for entry into any EU country and Switzerland. However, this does not apply to Euro 'look-alikes' such as with St. George's cross and 'ENG' underneath, etc.

Feb 4, 2007
Visit site
The UK never signed up to the border treaty which allows use of eu plates. Therefore apparently it is not legal to use them abroad. In practice though nobody seems to bother. Im just back from 2 weeks in france and most of the British cars I saw only had standard british plates.

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
What do you mean by 'border treaty'? If you mean the Schengen Agreement governing cross-border controls, this has nothing to do with EU number plates.