Fan not working on Carver 2000

Aug 26, 2018
Visit site
Hi everyone,
I have a Carver 2000 fanmaster with great output from the electric connection but the fan doesn't work at all. I am a little nervous leaving the main fire on as close to the duvet. I appreciate it probably works best with gas but even the cold air doesn't blow. Any advice would be really appreciated. Thank you.

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
The fan unit is a totally separate item bolted to the back of the fire, so it does not matter which fuel source you use, the fan is the same.

With the older units the most common cause of failure is the switch that controls the fan.
The best person to help you is Gary at Arc Systems.
http://www.arcsystems.biz/

He will be able to supply the parts you need.

The other thing that does not help at all is lack of servicing and especially cleaning of the fan unit.

Depending on access to the back of the fire it may be necessary to remove the fire, for which you are strongly advised to get a mobile engineer to do the work as it will involve gas connections and a new flue seal.

Aug 26, 2018
Visit site
Thank you so much for all your advice. I have only just bought the caravan and it is about 20 years old. Everything is immaculate but I don't know when it was last serviced so it will be next on my list!

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Tarn

Welcome to the forum.

Just a note, If you just ask to have your "caravan serviced", it only normally includes an operation and safety check on the appliances like the cooker, fridge, space and water heaters. If something is wrong, they are duty bound to report safety issues and with gas appliances to prevent their operation until they are fixed. And you would hope they would also report operational failures, like blown air fans not working.

If you want a propper service done on any of them you have to specifically ask for it, and it will usually be in addition to the normal service charge.