first time buyer

Jan 13, 2012
Visit site
have only just joined, but need a bit of advice. going to see my first caravan tomorrow and would like to know in general terms what to look out for. i am an aircraft engineer so anything mechanical i hope i will be ok with, the caravan is an avondale avocet L 2 berth 1999 priced at £3150, which seems to be a good price, i am assured ther is no damp and all systems work, so really just looking for a few pointers if possible , thank you in anticipation : )

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Where are you buying it from? a Dealer or Private Sale?

Has the van got any service history? if so, when was it last serviced and damp checked? Where are the results of the damp check?
Like any second hand caravan, the seller will "assure" you that everything works, there is no damp etc.
DONT believe everything you ar etold.
Insist on seeing everything working BEFORE parting with any cash.
Unless it has been serviced and the seller can prove it has been, recently, a pre purchase inspection by a mobile caravan mechanic would be a very good thing to get done, it will cost you around £60 or so, but may save you wasting £3,000.

Without seeming to be rude, being an aircraft engineer means absolutely nothing as far as caravans go.

Mar 27, 2011
Visit site