Aug 29, 2005
Visit site
Hi, I have been caravanning since the 1960s summer and winter and have always kept the gas cylinder outside the front of the van we started off with two small cylinders and as the years went on graduated to 13kg.propane I have just been informed by the Caravan Club that it no longer permits this, I suppose its another Health & Safety thing to blyte our lives I hope other sites dont go down this road what do you think.

Allan

Jun 20, 2005
Visit site
Hi Allan

Here's the CC official script. It does make sense and at the end of the day most of their rules / guidelines are there to safeguard all of us. Look on the brightside. Using the smaller cylinders may save you getting a hernia!

Cheers

Dustydog

The practice of using a larger propane cylinder standing outside the caravan is not recommended for several reasons. To transport the cylinder to the caravan site usually requires it to be carried on its side in the car boot, which is not recommended. This is because if any liquid LPG seeps up through the threaded top, it could gasify in the car boot with potentially dangerous results. Also, unless the cylinder is properly secured in a cradle, the consequences of even a minor accident could be serious. Once on site, the cylinder is then vulnerable to tampering by inquisitive children or pranksters and, unless properly secured, could be knocked over.

Damian

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Quote " I suppose its another Health & Safety thing to blyte our lives I hope other sites dont go down this road what do you think."

No it is not just another H&S thing to blight our (or your) life.

It IS a matter of everyones safety on site.