Heavy noseweight - advice needed

Nov 7, 2005
Visit site
I am new to caravanning and am working my way through the various problems/headaches a beginner experiences.

My car/van ratio is OK (1850 to 1200kgs) and the towing experience has been stable.

But the noseweight of my Buccaneer Elan seems very heavy and even with everything out of the front locker I can't get it much less than about 95 kgs, which is too much for my car's max of 75kgs

I am still experimenting with loading and obviously I can pile stuff behind the axle. But I worry that this will cause a pendulum or seesaw effect which might upset what is otherwise a stable tow.

I feel it needs sorting as a graunching sound started recently and although I stopped it by lightly sanding the towball clean (a tip in Practical Caravan} the ball looks as if it is suffering some premature wear and tear. (I don't, of course, know whether that was due to an overweight nose load or maybe its not connected)

Any advice from more experienced caravanners, please? Is the answer to pile the weight behind the axle to lift the front? Or, God forbid, do I need a new car??

Mar 14, 2005
lutzschelisch.wix.com
95kg for a caravan of only 1200g sounds very high, regardless of what car you've got. What heavy items have you got in the front locker? It would certainly be better to remove we

May 12, 2005
Visit site
Colin,

are you a member of the caravan club? if so refer to pages 604 605 of the hand book, it explains how to load your van. you basicly put heavy stuff on the floor and arrange back and forth of the axle until the correct nose wieght is achieved. good luck. Tony A.

Nov 7, 2005
Visit site
Colin,

are you a member of the caravan club? if so refer to pages 604 605 of the hand book, it explains how to load your van. you basicly put heavy stuff on the floor and arrange back and forth of the axle until the correct nose wieght is achieved. good luck. Tony A.