Hello.....newbie after advice

Sep 15, 2015
Visit site
Hi everyone, new to all this caravanning stuff. In fact a complete novice. :blink:

Wanting to buy our first tourer but need to get head round weights and what we can tow etc...

Now.. we have a 1.6 Qashqai +2 diesel 2013, 2WD. I believe the kerb weight is 1498 min and 1568 max. The towing weight is 1400kg. I believe it is 85% of the kerb weight for the right van?

We are looking for a 4/6 berth (pref very light!!) used van.

Can anyone tell me what I need please and confirm weights that would be ok to pull without too much problem???

Thank you :)

Feb 3, 2008
Visit site
As you already own the car then have a look at your registration certificate (V5c) to find its kerb weight (shown as Mass In Service). The max trailer weight should also be shown on the certificate. Max trailer weight is also available from the weight plates on the car (door pillar or engine bay) by taking the difference between number 1 and 2.

Please come back to us when you have these figures.

Edit - what is the power of your car?

Sep 15, 2015
Visit site
kerb weight is 1711. max trailer weight is 1400. power is 1598cc

Confused now as the book states kerbweight is 1498 min 1566 max but the mass in service number is 1711?
Thought these were the same thing?

Sep 15, 2015
Visit site
WoodlandsCamper said:
As you already own the car then have a look at your registration certificate (V5c) to find its kerb weight (shown as Mass In Service). The max trailer weight should also be shown on the certificate. Max trailer weight is also available from the weight plates on the car (door pillar or engine bay) by taking the difference between number 1 and 2.

Please come back to us when you have these figures.

Edit - what is the power of your car?

Confused now as the book states kerbweight is 1498 min 1566 max but the mass in service number is 1711?

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
alibabaxx said: