hello to everybody !!!

Apr 6, 2015
Visit site
Just found and signed up to site,very impressed...I am selling up in august and looking to live full time in a touring van,i would appreciate any advice,this info may help,, I will be living on my own,,budget for van between £10,000 ,£12,000 i would like a fixed bed model, any suggestions on dealers? should i buy private? what model,make would be adequate? I am a self employed builder and i would be travelling and working from the van,,, Reason for move to this style of living is complete and utter fraustration of working all year to pay mortgauge,bills etc and never seeming to move forward !! No kids left,lol no pets,,no demanding females,!!! lolol thanks for listening,,,Ian...

Mel

Mar 17, 2007
Visit site
Hi Ian. welcome to the forum. There is a long thread on full timing somewhere in this forum. Someone cleverer than me will find it for you I'm sure.
Mel

Jan 15, 2011
Visit site
Welcome to the forum Ian.
I wish you well with your new choice of life style. I'm not experienced enough to suggest a suitable make of caravan for you use. However one that is recognised as having good insulation/all year round use sort of a reputation. Obviously those winter nights can get cold and long.
I do occasionally have a mid week session of using my caravan during the winter for a few days fishing and can vouch for how cold it can get. Our van only boasts the lesser grade two of the insulation factors. I believe grade three insulation is the new norm now.
Best wishes Brian

Jun 19, 2014
Visit site
Hi and welcome.
I am not sure if you belong to any club ie Caravan and Camping club or the Caravan club. These clubs run small 5 van sites which for £8 - 15 per night you often get electric. toilets and showers. We stay on these a lot and there are often travelling workers staying ie Shop fitters, builders, power line engineers etc.