Hi guys, looking for very first motorhome!

Mar 25, 2018
Visit site
Hi everyone,

Just joined this as I have an interest in purchasing a motorhome for the first time. Complete novice, watched a load of videos and there are so many variations/configurations. There seems to be compromises on loads that I've looked at, but they suit others.

Is there one that ticks the following boxes at all?

1/ Low profile/compact so it's shorter than 6mtrs and able to drive on B class (normal license).
2/ Ideally a fixed double bed at the rear (island if at all possible or french). No need for bed above the cabin.
3/ Decent galley counter space.
4/ Medium/large sized fridge.
5/ Decent sized shower.
No need for a garage, but a bonus.
Solar panels or option to add them to stay off mains as long as possible.

All the motorhomes I've looked at online are too big, no galley surfaces, too many beds, single beds... just something that nearly checks all the boxes, but then something big puts me off.

Thank you :)

Nov 19, 2010
Visit site
Welcome, Anarchist (love the handle, VERY motorhome!)
Are you looking at new vans, or used ones? And what's your budget?
One like ours would tick most of your boxes, although the shower is a bit cosy.
It's a 2005 Bürstner, 6m long with a "French bed" (fixed lengthways double, with a slight cutoff at one corner). Solar panel, locker under the bed.
So they are out there, it's just about finding the right one.

Mar 25, 2018
Visit site
Hey Tony,

Budget is an approx. figure right now, but what I'm looking at is if there is anything that actually checks all the boxes. Keeping my eyes wide open to see what is out there used / new.

Do you have a model number for the one you're thinking of? All the ones I find are over 6mtrs.

I just found a nice site that suggests depending on what you're after depending on the style of bed etc...

https://www.outandaboutlive.co.uk/motorhomes/buyers-guide-advice/motorhomes/details/french-bed-motorhome-layouts/19

Dec 11, 2010