HI, I am trying to become a recycled caravanner and am out of...

Apr 29, 2007
Visit site
Hi I spent 45 years camping under canvas surrounded by (including parents) caravanners with the Sussex and then West Sussex District Association of Camping Club then the Folk Group of the CCGBI.

Now in my 64th year I want to get going again but not tenting or trailer tenting. I am missing some height - only 5ft 1 inch.

I have a Ford Fiesta LX 1.4 year 04.

All frame tent and camping equipment except my loo and loo tent and cooker etc I sent out to Sunami appeal.

I do not want anything fancy - just the basics that will keep my parrot, very tiny yorkie and I dry and are easily manageable.

Please can anyone help aadvice, as I am getting confused by the searches I have done on the web this afternoon.

Happy camping - wish I was right now.

You are welcome to email me direct on gill.bridge@tiscali.co.uk if you like.

Gill

Jul 18, 2006
Visit site
I am by no means an expert, but you may struggle to get a caravan that is light enough for you to tow with a fiesta (if you even can).

I struggled to get a 'van light enough for my focus estate. To play with various tow-cars and caravan combinations, try www.whattowcar.com I think you may need a different car though if you want a caravan, and if you are planning on getting a new 'van a heavier vehicle will be required.

Re-reading that actually made me sound like I knew what I was talking about, but anyway please check your car-caravan kerbweight Vs MTPLM. I was lucky and wasn't mislead (although I did my own research) But I have read stories on this forum where people have been sold caravans that can't be towed by their tow-car !! Beware !

Jul 18, 2006
Visit site
Just looked on the towsure website, and they sell a towbar for the Fiesta.

You'll probably only be able to tow a matchbox trailer mind you !!

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site