Insignia towing capacity

Jan 6, 2016
Visit site
Hi, I'm new to caravanning, well will be when I've bought one!!
I have a Vauxhall Insignia, 09 plate SE 2.0L model and was wondering what size caravan I could tow with it?
I have seen an Abbey Spectrum 520 5 berth, which is about 1450kg and wondered whether this was considered too big or unsafe.
If so, what would the maximum weight be that is considered safe?
Thank you in advance.

Feb 3, 2008
Visit site
Look at the weight plate on the door pillar of your car, it should give 4 figures and the difference between the first two is the max trailer weight. This figure should also appear on your V5c vehicle registration document. The V5c will also give you 'mass in service' which approximates to 'kerb weight'. For a new tower it is also recommended that the max trailer weight is no more than 85% of kerb weight.

My 2015 Insignia is 1613 kg mass in service, 85% of which is 1371 kg, although max trailer weight is 1800 kg.

The Abbey you quote would be higher than recommended for my Insignia.

May 7, 2012
Visit site
If the weight of your car is similar to Woodland Campers the Abbey is about as heavy as an inexperienced driver could manage I think. The 85% figure is a recommendation but is a good starting point and personally I would look for something a little bit lighter until you have a few years towing under your belt.
The Insignia is a good towcar however and provided the manufacturers towing limit is nor exceeded should cope.

Feb 3, 2008
Visit site