Jockey Wheel Twist/Dig in issues.

Jun 15, 2014
Visit site
Hi. I use a Kartt Jockey Wheel that struggles on the site we use, using our Mover. The pitches are sloped up to a flat surface and covered in loose inch stone. The Jockey Wheel can twist making a trough, all made worse when using ramps.

Any ideas welcome..Thanks.

Nov 30, 2022
Visit site
Caravan jockey wheels tend to be of relatively small diameter, and that's the root problem, small stones can (do) form a wedge in front and jam the wheel from rotating, So the issues your are having are not going to be at all easy to overcome. What is needed is a wide large diameter wheel, but there's nowhere to fit one!

Some rate pneumatic jockey wheels, I have no experience of one so am unable to form an opinion.

Jan 19, 2002
Visit site
If you look on Amazon for ‘2 tyre wheel traction mats’ for under £18 could you use these beneath the jockey wheel as you motor move the caravan?

Jun 15, 2014
Visit site
If you look on Amazon for ‘2 tyre wheel traction mats’ for under £18 could you use these beneath the jockey wheel as you motor move the caravan?
Thanks. I’ve actually tried these, they do help a bit however, I find the mat and the jockey can still dig in.
Caravan jockey wheels tend to be of relatively small diameter, and that's the root problem, small stones can (do) form a wedge in front and jam the wheel from rotating, So the issues your are having are not going to be at all easy to overcome. What is needed is a wide large diameter wheel, but there's nowhere to fit one!

Some rate pneumatic jockey wheels, I have no experience of one so am unable to form an opinion.
Thanks. I agree, it’s almost a large ball rather than a wheel that’s needed, in my opinion.

Jan 19, 2002
Visit site
Maybe something thicker - screw fix sell a 10mm depth tile and Bigdug up to 16mm that may stay flat on top of stones as the mover runs over them?

Jun 30, 2022
Visit site