Leisure battery wiring

Im currently converting a houseboat and the hull has a stripped out static caravan inside, I have bought a leisure battery and charger and need some help with the wiring, i know how to charge the battery my problems lie in not knowing how to set up the battery to the appliances i.e. can i use 3pin sockets? do i need a fuse box? if so how do i connect the battery/sockets to the fusebox, im a real novice and all i want to do is watch a telly in the evening without running my generator.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as google seems clogged up with VW camper wiring info.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Hello Christopher,

I am fairly sure that there are special arrangements for electrical wiring in boats. You need to check with a marine electrician rather than simply apply caravan practices.

the main reason is that boat hulls by their very nature don't have low level ventilation. this means any spillage of petrol or LPG vapour, both of which are heavier than air, will tend to collect in the hull. any electrical wiring (mains or 12V) must be installed to prevent sparks or discharges which could ignite any vapour with devastating results.

Jan 10, 2010
Visit site
As John L says there are speial arrangments for boats, the battery is usually kept in a sealed box preferably in the cockpit the box has its own vent. the newer boats have auto bilge pumps which when you start the engine automatically it vents the bilges prior to firing up, gas and petrol fumes were the main causes of eplosion in vessels years ago, not so much now with diesel engines. Older boats had a manual system where you threw a switch for a minute or so to vent the bilges. I would invest in a gas monitor as a back up.

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
Thank you Derek,