Leisure battery

Oct 12, 2022
Visit site
Hi,
I’m new to the scene 😁 I have just bought a Renault Traffic camper and replaced the leisure battery (previous owner only used hook up so we knew it wasn’t working) however we still can’t seem to get the battery to power the sockets even though it’s powering the lights! The sockets work when the van in plugged into the house so I’m not sure what to check! Thanks in advance 😁

Jul 8, 2020
Visit site
Hi , I would imagine the 240 sockets will only work when on the hook up as these will be on a different circuit compared to the leisure battery being used for the 12v lighting etc.

some better people in the know will be along shortly but that's my guess.

Cheers.

Reactions: craig84

Parksy

Nov 12, 2009
Visit site
Hi,
I’m new to the scene 😁 I have just bought a Renault Traffic camper and replaced the leisure battery (previous owner only used hook up so we knew it wasn’t working) however we still can’t seem to get the battery to power the sockets even though it’s powering the lights! The sockets work when the van in plugged into the house so I’m not sure what to check! Thanks in advance 😁
Are you trying to power the round 12v cigar lighter type sockets or the three pin 230v sockets?
Obviously a 12v leisure battery isn't connected to the 230v sockets which are powered by mains electricity, when the electric hook up lead (ehu) is plugged into the house electrical supply or a 230v ehu bollard on a campsite.
The 12v circuit, powered by the leisure battery, runs some of the lights, the water pump and toilet flush, it operates independently of the ehu and works off grid if the battery is fully charged.

Oct 12, 2022
Visit site
I’d assumed that the wee interface in the van was linked to an inverter but I don’t think that’s the case! Think that may be the way forward

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site