Levelling up

Mar 22, 2006
Visit site
Hi all,

basic question but what tips do people have for levelling up.

Is it best to reverse onto blocks?, pull onto blocks? I have heard people mention about using planks instead of blocks. Also how do you realy decide when you are level. I bought a small spirit level and to be honest it is worse than useless, when it says we are level we are nowhere near (i realise this is probably down to where I am putting the level). So far my best method has been to put a glass of water on the table and see when that looks level.

You can probably tell I am pretty new to all of this so words of one sylable would be appriciated.

Kind Regards

John

Mar 14, 2005
Visit site
You don't have to be absolutely level, John. Today's caravan equipment will run fine if you're a few degrees out. I personally try to level my van so that any water from the shower runs towards the plug end of the shower tray. A glass of water on the table is quite adequate when setting up, as too is the cheap spirit level (but buy an expensive bubble first). The main thing is that once you have set up, any fine tuning can be done later if you run into any problems.

May 21, 2008
Visit site
Hi John.

I use a freebie 8 inch spirit level from screw fix, placed on any window edge available as they are usually hung upright and at least oneat the front is square. I also use the method below for leveling using the ramps. The van doesn't have to be inch perfect as small deviations can be adjusted out with the corner steadies.

steve in Leo