Mr Shifta 3

Sep 16, 2010
Visit site
Greetings, all,
Anybody out there had experience of the above motor mover - I will have a short/ medium term use for one in the near future, before caravan upgrade and chassis mounted mover.
Looking for reasonably priced pre-used Shifta 3 if possible.
regards,
PK49

JTQ

May 7, 2005
Visit site
For what it is worth I have extensive experience of using the MK1 Mr Shifta around my home. Mine had the standard hard surface tyres.
Excellent bit of kit for the right applications and the weight of it stays at home.
They have distinct limitations the major one inherent on the limited weight taken by its wheels and the resulting traction grip. It carrying its own heavy lead acid battery puts it at advantage relative to other “A” frame drives because of that extra battery weight.
I could move my 1000 kg van anywhere with complete confidence, dry or wet on my tarmac and concrete surfaces that included a hump with 1:14 slopes.
I could similarly handle my 1700 kg van when the surfaces were dry; but I could not stop the van when needed on the slopes when things were wet.

I did not have any lawn or gravel use experience.

Sep 16, 2010
Visit site
JTQ - many thanks for this input.
I have an Eriba Puck 230 Touring, which weighs in at approx 875 kgs - the problem I will have at new house is a slight slope, up which I will have move/ reverse the Puck into park postion, bum first. Not being the best at reversing up slopes, and not wanting to knock the clutch out of 1.4 Fiesta, the Shifta seems the best short term option. No other option seems to be on the market right ow.
My feeling, from other feedback, is that the Shifta 3 is up to this task - locating a pre-owned one is the problem.
thanks
PK49

JTQ

May 7, 2005
Visit site
PK49,