Narrowish roads in the dark

Jul 18, 2005
Visit site
Hi All,

I have been caravanning for 8 years now, but this last weekend was the first time I found myself towing in the dark. Motorways and main roads were fine, but I found myself unusually nervous and hesitant as the approach to our site involved some distance on unlit narrowish, but still two way (just), roads. I realised that I usually rely on frequent checks in the nearside wing mirror to reassure myself that the caravan is clear of the hedge etc when I am passing other largeish vehicles on such roads, but in the dark I couldn't see anything! (It didn't help that it was p...ing with rain at the time!)

Any tips or suggestions from those who have towed regularly in such conditions?

Cheers

Paul

Sep 8, 2009
Visit site
Not a hugely satisfactory answer but I had the same issue just at the end of the journey. I switched on the light by the caravan door which gave just enough illumination.

I would like to put a light strip along the length of the caravan to make it more visible at night. I am not sure of the legalities: what colour light, how bright etc.

Jun 20, 2005
Visit site
Paul

You are not alone on this one. It's difficult.

The best way is to use as many front lights on the towing vehicle as you safely can. The usual front fog lights are useful illuminating the nearside. Try and look as far ahead as possible and ensure your position doesn't drift in towards the nearside. Keep your speed down .

If it gets so bad you can't see , I'd stop somewhere safe and wait until sunrise.

Cheers

Dustydog

Jul 31, 2010
Visit site
With regards to using front fog lamps, bear in mind, that it is actually an offence to use fog lamps, except in poor weather conditions. Not something that is strictly enforced I know, but none the less it is still illegal.

Steve W

Jun 20, 2005
Visit site