New member with storage, but no clue how to tell people about it!

Jun 27, 2023
Visit site
Evening all,

I’m not a caravanner, I’m a farmer from Berkshire with some spare covered barn space and no knowledge about how to contact potential storage customers. Most spaces are ‘single occupancy’ in the sense that they would never be moved, except by the owner.

I’m located near junction 13 of the M4 (Newbury) and have inside space for about 15+ caravans, with basic facilities, and am looking for some income from these buildings, as they’re sitting empty at the moment.

Is there a regional website that I can use to contact people on? There seems to be morning in Facebook which was my first thought.

Anyway, any advice gratefully received, and if this is against forum rules, I will wait to be nuked into next week. :)

Mel

Mar 17, 2007
Visit site
There is a trade organisation called CASSOA which grades storage according to security level. You have to pay to be registered by them, no idea how muc. It is probably more than what you want at the moment. Assume you have a website? Googling things like Caravan storage near me, is how I found our storage yard. Having an entry in Yell ( yellow pages) maybe? Caravan Club and Caravan and Camping club have a small ads section in their magazines. May be worth a punt?
There does seem to be a lack of storage around so if you can get the word out, you may see some demand.
Good luck with your plans
mel

Jun 16, 2020
Visit site
The farm I used until I gave up caravaning, deliberately did no advertising. He relied on word of mouth. But I don't know how he managed to get people originally. He had about 80 vans in two compounds with 8 foot fences. Entrance was only past the farmhouse, and he had CCTV. He charged £350 per year.

Security is important to users.

Perhaps you could find other farmers who do the same and pick their brains.

John

Nov 16, 2015
Visit site